General Assembly

The policy body of the Council of Governments shall be known as the “General Assembly.” Each jurisdiction may be represented at a General Assembly meeting by a maximum of two voting delegates.  Each delegate shall be entitled to one vote in the General Assembly.  A jurisdiction may send more than two representatives to any General Assembly meeting.

Delegates shall be chosen by each member unit of government provided that a least one of the delegates from each member unit of government shall be an elected official and therefore at least one-half of the delegates to the General Assembly shall be local elected officials. Delegates shall serve continuously until their successors have been selected by their member unit of government.